Frozen Small World Play

img_3574img_3575

This is a small world table I put together very quickly with items I had on hand.  What child doesn’t love Frozen?! Because children have such a strong interest in this story there are many great opportunities for language, social, and literacy skill development. To build the frozen castle I went through my container of mega blocks and picked out all the frozen themed colors and went to building! The great thing about using mega blocks is that the children can take the castle down and recreate it whichever way they wish! This is also a great opportunity to encourage children to build with manipulatives who do not usually prefer the block center.

When creating small world play I prefer to use several different types of loose parts to encourage symbolic play and creative thinking. For example, I added several sparkly white pom poms. The children can pretend these are snowballs, icicles, reindeer food, or crystals. Many times loose parts can be purchased inexpensively at places like the Dollar tree. I purchased some wooden Jenga pieces from the dollar tree and painted them white, silver, and blue. The children used these to build bridges and houses. The Frozen characters were also found at the Dollar tree. I also added cutouts of blue felt for water, some silver Christmas tree garland, and some woodland animals.

Small world play is an excellent way to encourage pretend play, story retelling, language, and social skills. I like to recreate my small world table according to whatever we are focusing on at the time. Children LOVE small world play! If you’ve never tried it you will be amazed at how engaged they are with this activity. Thanks for following along with me!

Catherine

Leave a Reply

